St Mary's Parish Church, Haddington



Access for partially abled Toilets on premises Hearing induction loop for the deaf Guidebooks and souvenirs Welcomers and guides on duty Refreshments
Also Known As:
The Lamp of Lothian
Denomination:
Church of Scotland
OS Reference:
NT519736
Address:
Sidegate, Haddington, EH41 4BZ
Local Authority:
East Lothian
Website:
Listing:
A

Location of Church


Nearby Churches

< 0.5 mile
2.3 miles
2.5 miles
3.6 miles
4.6 miles


Contact this Church

Church Overview

Dating back to the 14th century, one of the three great pre-Reformation churches of the Lothians, known as 'The Lamp of Lothian', it is the longest parish church in Scotland, with a fascinating history. Nave repaired for John Knox and the Reformers after Siege of Haddington 1548 and used as the parish church for almost 400 years. Transepts and choir restored, Ian G Lindsay & Partners 1973. Lauderdale Aisle, now the Chapel of the Three Kings, in regular ecumenical use. Fine stone carvings, especially west door. Notable stained glass by Sir Edward Burne-Jones and Sax Shaw. Modern tapestries. Fine pipe organ by Lammermuir Pipe Organs 1990. A peal of eight bells installed in the tower (and dedicated by the Moderator) in 1999.

Services

Sundays: all Age Worship 9.30am and Worship 11.00am


Disclaimer

The information about churches in Scotland's Churches Scheme has been provided by the congregations or taken from the Historic Scotland list and published sources, in particular, the Buildings of Scotland volumes and the RIAS Illustrated Architectural Guides. The information is not authoritative; please contact us to let us know of any errors or omissions.